India vs England Test Series 2024 Squad Announcement

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has revealed the India vs England Test Squad for the first two Test matches against England, scheduled to commence on January 25 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Maiden Call-Up for Dhruv Jurel

  • Uttar Pradesh wicketkeeper-batter Dhruv Jurel earns his maiden call-up to the national team.
  • He will serve as the third wicketkeeping option, backing up KL Rahul and KS Bharat.

Exclusion of Pujara and Rahane

  • Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane continue to be overlooked for selection.
  • The batting lineup retains a familiar look to the South Africa tour, with some fresh faces.

Avesh Khan Bolsters Pace Battery

  • Avesh Khan, supporting designated vice-captain Jasprit Bumrah, strengthens the pace battery.
  • Mohammed Siraj and Mukesh Kumar are the other fast bowling options for the team.

Spin Department Reinforcements

  • India vs England Test Squad In home conditions, India relies heavily on its spin department.
  • Kuldeep Yadav will cover for the spin trio of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel.

Top-Position in WTC Standings

  • The announcement follows India’s historic Test win in Cape Town on January 4, propelling them to the top of the World Test Championship (WTC) standings.

England Diverse Mix for India Tests

The England Men’s selection panel has unveiled a 16-player squad for the upcoming five-Test series against India, featuring a blend of experience and fresh talent. Among the notable inclusions are three uncapped players at the Test level.

Hyderabadi Encounter on January 25

  • The first Test of the five-match series will take place on January 25 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Rohit Sharma (C ), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, S Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan.

Ben Stokes (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Foakes (wk) Shoaib Bashir, Ben Duckett, Gus Atkinson, Zak Crawley, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Tom Hartley, Ollie Pope, Mark Wood, Harry Brook, Rehan Ahmed, James Anderson, Jack Leach.