IPL 2008: Rajasthan Royals Crowned IPL 2008 Champions in Sensational Final

On June 01, 2008, at DY Patil, the Indian Premier League (IPL) witnessed an exhilarating final between the Chennai Super Kings and the Rajasthan Royals IPL 2008 Champions. The clash, a thrilling encounter that left a lasting impact, marked the conclusion of the inaugural IPL season. Let’s delve into the key highlights and statistics that defined this historic match.


Rajasthan Royals emerged victorious, chasing down Chennai Super Kings’ total of 163/5 with 0 balls remaining. The Royals secured a narrow win by 3 wickets.

Runner Up

It was a closely contested match that showcased the resilience of the Super Kings, title he experience gained and lessons learned during that early phase served as a foundation for the team’s resilience and strategic prowess in future editions of the Indian Premier League.

Player of the Match

Yusuf Pathan was the standout performer, contributing with both bat and ball. He scored a crucial 56 runs off 39 balls and took 3 wickets for 22 runs.

Player of the Series

Shane Watson all-round brilliance earned him the Player of the Series award. He amassed 472 runs and claimed 17 wickets, showcasing his impactful contributions.

Points Table

PositionTeamMatchesWinsLossesTiesNo ResultPointsNRR
1Rajasthan Royals1411300220.632
2Kings XI Punjab1410400200.509
3Chennai Super Kings14860016-0.192
4Delhi Daredevils147601150.342
5Mumbai Indians147700140.570
6Kolkata Knight Riders14670113-0.147
8Deccan Chargers14212004-0.467

The 2008 IPL Final remains etched in memory as clinched the title in a nail-biting encounter. The remarkable performances of Yusuf Pathan and Shane Watson, along with strategic decisions, shaped the outcome of this historic match, setting the tone for the seasons to come in the Indian Premier League.