IPL 2009: Deccan Chargers Crowned IPL 2009 Champions in Sensational Final

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2009 Final, hosted in Johannesburg on May 24, featured an enthralling clash between the Deccan Chargers IPL 2009 Champions and the Royal Challengers Bangalore.The Chargers secured a memorable victory by defending their total of 143/6, restricting the Royal Challengers to 137/9.The clash a thrilling encounter that left a lasting impact, marked the conclusion of the inaugural IPL season.


Deccan Chargers posted 143/6 and successfully defended it, winning the final by 6 runs. Anil Kumble outstanding bowling earned him the Player of the Match title.

Runner Up

The Royal Challengers Bangalore emerged as the runners-up, facing a formidable challenge from the Deccan Chargers. Despite their valiant efforts, the Royal Challengers fell short, concluding the tournament as the second-placed team.

Player of the Match

Anil Kumble exceptional performance with a spell of 4/16 in the final played a crucial role in the Chargers triumph

Player of the Series

Adam Gilchrist exceptional batting performance throughout the series, amassing 495 runs, earned him the Player of the Series accolade.

Points Table

PositionTeamMatchesWinsLossesTiesNo ResultPointsNRR
1Delhi Daredevils1410400200.311
2Chennai Super Kings148501170.951
3Royal Challengers Bangalore14860016-0.191
4Deccan Chargers147700140.203
5Kings XI Punjab14770014-0.483
6Rajasthan Royals14670113-0.352
7Mumbai Indians145801110.297
8Kolkata Knight Riders14310017-0.789

The IPL 2009 Final showcased the Deccan Chargers IPL 2009 Champions resilience and determination ultimately securing victory against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in a thrilling encounter. This triumph added a memorable chapter to the history of the Indian Premier League.