BCCI Announces Annual Player Retainership for Team India (Senior Men) 2023-24 Season

Date: February 28, 2024

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has unveiled the Annual Player Contracts for Team India (Senior Men) for the upcoming 2023-24 season, covering the period from October 1st, 2023, to September 30th, 2024. The announcement, made by Honorary Secretary Jay Shah, outlines the categorization of players into different grades based on their performances and contributions to the team.

A+Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja
AR Ashwin, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya
BSurya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Yashasvi Jaiswal
CRinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar

Note: The players mentioned under Grade C will be automatically included based on their performance criteria – a minimum of 3 Tests or 8 ODIs or 10 T20Is within the specified period.

Additionally, the Selection Committee has recommended Fast Bowling contracts for Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa.

Grade A+ (4 Athletes):

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Virat Kohli
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Ravindra Jadeja

This elite category comprises four top-performing players who have consistently demonstrated exceptional skills on the field.

Grade A (6 Athletes):

  • R Ashwin
  • Mohd. Shami
  • Mohd. Siraj
  • KL Rahul
  • Shubman Gill
  • Hardik Pandya

The Grade A list includes six players recognized for their outstanding performances in international cricket, contributing significantly to Team India’s success.

Grade B (5 Athletes):

  • Surya Kumar Yadav
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Axar Patel
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal

Players in Grade B have been acknowledged for their consistent performances and valuable contributions to the team.

Grade C (15 Athletes):

  • Rinku Singh
  • Tilak Verma
  • Ruturaj Gaekwad
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Shivam Dube
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Jitesh Sharma
  • Washington Sundar
  • Mukesh Kumar
  • Sanju Samson
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • KS Bharat
  • Prasidh Krishna
  • Avesh Khan
  • Rajat Patidar

Athletes in Grade C are recognized for their potential and will automatically qualify based on playing criteria – a minimum of 3 Tests or 8 ODIs or 10 T20Is within the specified period. Dhruv Jurel and Sarfaraz Khan could be inducted into Grade C if they meet the criteria during the ongoing series against England.

Notably, Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan were not considered for the annual contracts in this round of recommendations.

The Selection Committee has also introduced Fast Bowling contracts for the following athletes: Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa.

In addition to the contract details, the BCCI strongly recommends that all players prioritize participating in domestic cricket during periods when they are not representing the national team. This move aims to bolster the domestic cricket scene and nurture young talent across the country.

Cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the performance of these contracted players as Team India looks forward to a successful and challenging season ahead.